My Mind Wanders…

On a bleak winter day, my mind seems to turn to the less positive events I have had to deal with in the past. I wonder what makes less scrupulous people tick… I wonder how they can be the way they are… how can they do what they do every day… then I hit the mute button on these thoughts because they cause me no good. For me, this is a good time to shift gears.

How do I do this? As strange as it sounds, looking at art is a tremendous relief for me. I usually go to google images and do a search for Impressionist Art and I am never unhappy. If there is an art work that is really satisfying to me, I go search the Internet to learn more about the artist. I then meditate that these individuals may not be alive any more, but they left so much beauty behind. Artists in time have had personal struggles and heartache just like me — but they somehow managed to transform the sadness and anger into beauty.

By the time I am done meditating I realize… the longer I worry about the schmucks of the world, the less time I have to achieve my goals. For me, this is less time I have as an artist to leave something for another to contemplate after I am gone. For you parents out there, the more time you worry about those annoying people you know, that’s another beautiful moment you could have had with your children.

This entry was posted in I'm OK You're OK and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

